Back to School Blog Tour

This is my favorite time of year.  The weather starts to cool down, the trees change colors, and The Back to School Blog Tour is on my calendar. I had big plans this year to make them a few pieces for fall.  Fall still hasn’t shown up in NJ.  We still have full heat and humidity like it’s August.

Absolutely ridiculous.  So I changed my plans.  I wanted to make her something that she could use on the chilly mornings, that wouldn’t be cumbersome at pick up when it’s 90 degrees…  In flew the Constance Cape by JillyAtlanta.

 

20170928_074953

I made her one at the end of last year and she loved it.  “Mommy, dis my cape? I wuv it, Mommy.”  Like most things I tell my kids not to do she doesn’t listen when I tell her to stop growing, so we needed a new size.  Printing and assembling the pattern is so quick. Not many pieces/pages, but amazing results.

I bought this fabric 3 (?) years ago to make myself a cape.  I was in the clearance section of Joann and it was YELLING at me come look at it.  I looked and bought 4 yards.  Fast forward I still haven’t made myself this cape, but I’m glad someone gets a cape out of this fabric.  It’s heavy and warm and absolutely perfect for a cape.

This cape can be dressed up or down.  As you can see it goes well with leggings and her t-shirt. It’s easy for her to get on herself.  She can keep it on when she gets in her carseat.   It’s the perfect piece for back to school.  The mornings are a little cool, but the rest of the day is hot, humid, and just gross.

20170928_075218

I hope this cape ushers in some cooler weather.  We’re ready for it.

There are so many other talented bloggers on this tour.  Have you been following along this week? If not you can catch up here.

Tour schedule:

Monday, September 25, 2017

Host: Sprouting JubeJube

Sewing by Ti * mahlicadesigns * Momma You Can Make It * Kutti Couture * MoonStar – Wondermirakel * Call Ajaire

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Host: Lulu & Celeste

Sew and Tell Project * From-a-Box * Ronda B. Handmade * MeMade * House of Estrela * My Heart Will Sew On * Tales From A Southern Mom

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Host: Sprouting JubeJube

mahlicadesigns * Gracious Threads * Adventures With Bubba and Bug * Elli & Nels * Bellevi * Little Heart Threads * Sewing By Ti * Lulu & Celeste

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Host: Lulu & Celeste

Paisley Roots * The Crafting Fiend * Sewstarly * It’s Liesel * Tales of a Tester * Kaleidothought * auschick sews

Friday, September 29, 2017

Host: Sprouting JubeJube

SewSophieLynn * Sew Haute Blog * mahlicadesigns * Sew and Tell Project * RP Custom Fabrics Blog * FABulous Home Sewn * Sewing By Ti * Phat Quarters

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. lshepherd88 says:

    That cape is amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

