Sew Long Summer Blog Tour

This is my second year participating in the Sew Long Summer Tour hosted by Mahlica Designs.  I really like this tour because I can dig through all of the projects that I would like to make, but keep putting off for other projects.

Last year, I dug through my never ending Pinterest board of approximately 100 million projects (not an exaggeration).  I made my scarf that I LOVE.  So, this year I decided that the Pinterest board was a good place to start.  I vacillated between about 300 (also not an exaggeration) different projects that I could make.

One of my many lost afternoons on Pinterest I found a blog post by Penny Carnival that showed how to make these super cute book slings.  I saved it, of course.  Not to long after that I dragged the family to Joann’s and Lowe’s to get the supplies.  That was well over a year ago.  Everything for this project disappeared into the abyss.  I never got to it.  20170914_095826

Fast forward to this year I finally decided to make the book sling for my daughter and because I am me I couldn’t remember where I put the supplies…  Thank God for my amazing husband and his memory, because I would have gone out and purchased the hardware again. HAHAHAHA!

This project is so simple, but it has a huge impact.  It adds exactly what I wanted to her room.  A little character.  She loves it. It helps separate her books from her brothers.  It keeps them off of her floor and off of the living room floor.  She gets a super cute reading area and quite frankly I’m a little jealous.

20170915_091909

I used a canvas fabric for her sling.  She’s cute, but she’s so rough.  I wanted to make sure it was durable, and I think I accomplished that.

20170915_091937

I also think I want to add a little something to it.  It needs an extra little punch.  I think that’s something we can do together.  She loves “helping”.  She even “helped” hang her sling.

My husband loves it, because I have actually completed one of the hundreds of projects that’s running him out of the house.

I hope you loved our book sling as much as we do.  If you would like to make your own head over to Penny Carnival for the full instructions.

There are so many amazing projects and bloggers on this tour.  All of the links are listed below.  Go check them out! I’m sure you’ll find something you love.

 

Sept. 11th Sewing by Ti, Sewing Vortex, Sewing A La Carte, Very Blissful

Sept. 12th mahlicadesigns, My Heart Will So On, Couturious, Anne-Mari Sews, Adventures With Bubba and Bug

Sept. 13th Tenilles Thread, Sewing with D, mahlicadesigns

Sept. 14th Indulging Mom, MeMade, Sewing with D

Sept. 15th Little Heart Threads, Idlesunshine, Ronda B. Handmade, Tales of a Tester, Sewing à la Carte, Tales From A Southern Mom, Sew Haute Blog

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ronda Bowen says:

    LOVE it! I should do this in the little under stairs nook we have in the basement…one of these days 😛 It coordinates so well with the little chair too. 😀

    Like

  2. What a great and brilliant idea. Just like you I’m going to save this one and make it some day.

    Like

  3. Oh goodness, this would solve so much for us. There are books everywhere in our house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

